Do You Have A ‘Nina’ In Your Life?

Anyone who knows me well, knows that I am in LOVE with the webisode  The Misadventures of An Awkward Black Girl.

Founded by Issa Rae, the show takes you through the life of main character J, as she tackles with her relationships, friendships, work place drama and her self identity. With her sense of humour, awkward tendencies and amusing insight I have realized that J is ME.

Not to spoil too much of the show, if you have not watch it (which I encourage you do), J is faced with a mean and unruly coworker named Nina. No one knows why Nina has a problem with J but she just does. From her mean and hateful remarks to her childish antics, Nina is just a burden to deal with.

Sigh

Unfortunately, I have a Nina in my life and she just WON’T STOP. 

I have tried to be nice, smile and engage her in conversation but to no avail. I believe that she thinks that I am a threat and that is fine but must you be so rude!

At first it was all fine and dandy but as days started progression to weeks and weeks to month, I started complaining to friends and family that I have an unpleasant coworker. How could this happen to me? I am the nicest person anyone can meet until you do something to me…then the gloves are off.

Many days I  have felt anxious to even step foot  at work. I wasn’t sure what I was going to meet or face that day; thank goodness for some cool co-workers to bring balance to my day.  Along with ear phones, surfing the net and refreshing my social media network pages, I have found a way to combat her and the stress that she brings.

Some may say, “Jennifer, but we don’t understand. It doesn’t sound that bad.” 

For all of you who want a taste of what I deal with from 9-5 or sometimes even later, well here you go. Don’t say that I haven’t warned you!

                                                                             EXAMPLES

I think you guys get the point…

So have you ever dealt with or are dealing with a ‘Nina’?  If so, how did you handle it?

 

Leave a Reply

