It’s 2012 and Race Is Still A Factor!

Many of you may have heard about Trayvon Martin, a 17 year old kid who was gunned down in a gated Community in Sanford, Fl on February 21st. George Zimmerman was the self-appointed community watch-man who saw a “suspicious” person walking around in his community. That “suspicious” person happened to be Trayvon. Trayvon was only holding a bag of skittles and a canned ice tea before his life was ended.

Zimmerman called the police and informed them of Trayvon, instead of heeding the call to stay put, Zimmerman decided to take matters into his own hand. Not only did he follow and confront Trayvon but a fight ensued. On the 911 calls from concerned neighbors, you could hear Trayvon crying out for help. A shot goes off.  Trayvon is dead.

Zimmerman is taken into custody while Trayvon Martin body is sent to the morgue as a “John Doe” and tested for drugs and alcohol. For 24 hours, Trayvon is not id and Zimmerman is released on his testimony of self-defense. Zimmerman was not tested for drugs or alcohol, his criminal past is not questioned and yet we have a dead un-armed 17 year old boy.

How did Zimmerman commit crime and walk scotch free??? Florida has a law called, “Stand Your Ground Law”, where a person who feels like their life is at danger, can shoot first, claim self defense and ask later….literally.

Trayvon’s story has caught national attention and has re-sparked the debate with race relations and the police and stereotypes that are perceived by others.

President Obama: “If I had a son, he would look like Trayvon”

My heart cries for this young man and his family. 

I’m not a black man but I know what it’s like to be judged off of your skin color alone. I live in D.C. where there are a mixture of cultures and races but yet, I have witnessed racism countless times.  I have gone out and partied with friends only to have taxi drivers continuously pass me up for my white counterparts.

Was it because I was threatening? Or that I could not pay for my taxi ride? I will never know because taxi after taxi, I stood helplessly and shocked at what was taking place. Many of them looked at me in my face and decided that I was not worth picking up. I have seen many blacks in the city try unsuccessfully to get a cab while non-blacks hop into one with ease. After 20 minutes had gone by and no cab  stopped -even though they were in abundance-, a black officer came to my aid. Frustrated himself, he stopped a cab and instructed the driver to take me anywhere that I needed to go.

I was in disbelief that this was happening to me….shoot, at all.

These taxi drivers were minorities just like me; who would probably be judged and ridiculed because of their skin tone, their accent, their customs but they did not mind spewing that prejudice and hate towards me just like Zimmerman did Trayvon.

George Zimmerman is of hispanic descent. He doesn’t even look Caucasian but the media outlets have been running contradicting reports. I don’t care if this man is Latino, Asian, White or Black; the fact that he is free and has not been charged and arrested is bewildering and upsetting to me.

What do I tell my son when he grows up? That being a black man in this world may lead to a death sentence? What do I tell my daughter who constantly sees white women displayed on magazine covers and doesn’t understand why her skin may not be beautiful enough?

What do I tell myself when I enter meetings or board rooms and I’m the only one that looks like me but yet my voice would be stifled by co-workers who don’t think I’m good enough to weigh in on discussion or take control of presentations?

How do I tread this world when I have to continuously look a part, sound a part, while making sure not to cross this blurred line called life?!

When will Black people as a race be equal?

I cry for the many men and women who cases go unheard. I cry for the mothers who will get that call that the child that they had in their womb for 9 months, raised and loved is no longer in this world. I weep for the men who face discrimination and racism everyday for just being who God has created them to be.

I read a great article by Michael Skolnik on White Privilege and how whites will never go through what Trayvon Martin has gone through. Many whites don’t understand the injustice that some Blacks face. When things like this happen, I try to stay away from comments that continue to spew hate and utter ignorance.

Unfortuanately, we are not living in a post-racial society. I’m sorry the facade is slowly unveiling itself. We will always have people who believe that they are the “superior” race… whatever that shit means.

God is infinite and wonderful in his ways. He created all of us in his image and likeness. He wasn’t dumb, he created so many beautiful people with different languages, skin color, customs, traditions, etc. Why we can’t embrace and love each other as a society? I will never understand.

Are there people of ALL races that just are trifling, don’t know how to behave and can be an embarrassment. YES. Every race has it, but to single out the Black race as the good for nothing, baby mama drama, welfare ridden destitutes makes me infuriated.

I don’t know what race my husband will be and I don’t know what children God will bless me with, but I fear for my unborn children lives. I fear for my black male friends, cousins, uncles and even for my brother; that someone may one day find them suspicious and take matters into their own hands and take their life.

I pray that this family recieves the justice that it deserves and that this will not be a story just for the time being but a catalyst for change.

Trayvon Martin death is not in vain. Even though his killer is free, his story has sparked up major debate and I have found peace with that. We don’t know how God can use one person, (whether we see it as a tragedy and he sees it as a blessing) I know that this young man is resting in peace.

For the rest of us out here, white or black, young or old….we still are among the living. We can change the way we think, we can change the way that we view each other. God commanded to love others as you love yourself. Respect one another and let go of the hatred that has been inbred in us over time. 

(this makes me cry every time I hear it….this young boy was pleading for his life but NO ONE CAME TO AID HIM! His last words were laced with fear. R.I.P Trayvon Martin)

I AM TRAYVON MARTIN!!

To help the Martin family pay for lawyer expenses, please donate here: https://www.wepay.com/donations/3819

 

 

Leave a Reply

