50 Shades of Grey

50 Shades of Grey Trilogy Covers

I totally got immersed in this book….I bought the book Friday night and finished reading it Tuesday evening. If you haven’t read this book I suggest you go ahead and do so. It is a trilogy that will leave you mesmerized, horrified and sexually confused. LOL. Ok, maybe not the last part but the sex scenes are definitely INTENSE.

So what is the book about Jen? 

Description of the book  50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

I will give you my honest opinion and I had a love- hate moment with this book.  James’ strong suit is her ability to elicit sympathy in the protagonist. I wanted to find out what happened to Anastasia, and that lent the story a compelling, page- turning quality. However, the naiveté that Anastasia has is overwhelming  and at times beyond frustrating. A part of me wanted to take Anastasia by the shoulders and shake her till she came to her senses.

I understand what it means to be immersed into someone that it can ‘take over you’ BUT her desire/craving/wanting/subtle begging got to the point where I was continually rolling my eyes. After every chapter I was rooting for her to be brave, to speak her mind and not use her body as a means to get closer to a guy. But how many of us women can relate to Anastasia?

Anastasia downfall was trying to change a man. Yes, she got him to open up. Yes, he was showing slight changes but what she truly wanted she couldn’t have…well, at the end of the first book. Young and desperately wanting the man she gave herself too, to love her was a recipe for disaster.

I get it. I truly do.

I know what it is like to want someone so bad that you would do almost anything to have them,  but I also know how that story ends all too well. It ends with you hauling ass and crying uncontrollably as your best friend tries to console your broken spirit. Yup and sadly the protagonist knew that feeling as well… several times throughout the course of the book but that’s real life, right? Wrong…well, depends.

Besides the protagonist getting on my nerves from time to time the writing in itself was sub par. I have read some erotic novels like Zane which left me wanting more…literally. I emotionally connected with the characters; the word play and imagery were indescribable and left me clinching my legs together or desiring the act that was written in the book. LOL.

I was disappointed with the sex scenes in this book. Yes, there were some that made me smile and there were others that were too horrid to continue reading. Not only were they unbelievable but the repetition in the words or even the facial descriptions of the characters were too redundant for me to enjoy.

I decided to research and see if everyone else who read the book felt the same way in regards to the repetition and here is what I found:

Following up on their suggestions with my ever-useful Kindle search function, I have discovered that Ana says “Jeez” 81 times and “oh my” 72 times. She “blushes” or “flushes” 125 times, including 13 that are “scarlet,” 6 that are “crimson,” and one that is “stars and stripes red.” (I can’t even imagine.) Ana “peeks up” at Christian 13 times, and there are 9 references to Christian’s “hooded eyes” and 7 to his “long index finger.” Characters “murmur” 199 times and “whisper” 195 times (doesn’t anyone just talk?), “clamber” on/in/out of things 21 times, and “smirk” 34 times. Finally, in a remarkable bit of symmetry, our hero and heroine exchange 124 “grins” and 124 “frowns”… which, by the way, seems an awful lot of frowning for a woman who experiences “intense,” “body-shattering,” “delicious,” “violent,” “all-consuming,” “turbulent,” “agonizing” and “exhausting” orgasms on just about every page.

Besides the redundancy in the character usage of expressions and words, I was completely enthralled by the antagonist, Christian Grey. Here’s a man who is intelligent, rich, and handsome yet his need for domination and control is borderline crazy. I was intrigued by his ambiguity and I could see how Anastasia was pulled in to his allure.

Now that I have finished the first book, I am very curious to see how things play out in the other two. It was a good read and I enjoyed getting lost in it all. If erotic novels are not your thing than I won’t suggest this book for your next read. Granted, I didn’t know that it was an erotic book when I first heard about it but it was definitely worth taking a peek at.

Thoughts? Have you read the book? If so, did you like it? Did you enjoy the development of each character, why or why not?

Leave a Reply

